Commitment

nanowrimo2014

This is my very first NaNoWriMo participation, although I did do the JuNoWriMo as well.

This is supposedly the Big Thing, and even if I’m not the sort who likes to jump on any bandwagons, become a sheep, and let others dictate my actions, this is more of a commitment made to myself that needs to be adhered to for the duration . . . or else.

Funny thing is, since publishing Sing to Me, I’ve done nothing but think and think some more about my next novel. Well, there were three asides I managed to get a few chapters written for and labeled them by number instead of title.

They’re infancy thoughts that needed to get out of my head so that I’m better able to concentrate on the real thing, and NaNoWriMo is the catalyst to get that job done.

It’s actually a tad embarrassing to realize and even admit to the fact that as of November 1 I started writing seriously again. The dynamite duct taped under my chair kind of thing to get me to do what I should have been doing even without the added incentive to do it.

Shame on me.

So, yesterday at approximately 7:30pm, I started writing my next novel and uploaded 2,014 words to my NaNoWriMo home page.

Tonight I hope to do as much, if not more. With the chocolate-induced migraine from having snacked on a few too many Nestle Crunch mini’s in the Halloween goody bowl finally gone, I have no excuse not to write.

I took two Aleve this morning, so there are no aches or pains to distract me, either.

I’m about to consume chicken fried steak (can someone explain this to me?), mashed potatoes, and some veggies to get the hunger distraction out of the way, and then it’s off to the races.

I like this new novel! I adore the two leads, the premise behind their getting together, and all of the angst I’ve got planned for them in each chapter. This time, she’s completely no-nonsense and together while he has one heck of a battle in store 😀

This is the first of four in a fantasy series, but without all of the rote mundane the genre has come to consider as Bible verse dogma. It is fantasy and therefore anything goes in my book. I will not be following any hard and fast rules set down by the genre gods, which frees up my mind and helps the creative juices to flow more freely, I think.

I don’t know what is wrong with me and why I’m not able to just write, write, and write some more. I should, and I want to, but it’s just not happening. At least with a self-sworn commitment to participate, I am going to hopefully get the rough draft out of the way by December 1st.

I chose Michigan:Detroit for my region, and surprise-surprise, no one is available for the buddy thing. 😦

It just doesn’t seem likely I’ll ever find someone to critique my work and them let me critique theirs. I’ll never be able to leave the house once a week to join a writer’s circle the way others are lucky enough to get to do.

If you are a participant as well, I’d like to hear from you — what you’re working on, where you’re from, and if you’ve done this before. What do I need to look out for, and do those forum rooms help or hinder the process?

The tweeting thing threw me in JuNoWriMo, but then I realized these guys were using their smart phones to text while also writing.

I’m poor and have a phone phobia, so tweeting anything this month is out of the question.

Ah well, such is life. And now, if you’ll kindly excuse me for the next 30 days, I have a novel to draft.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think!

