Romance Weekly Blog Hop – The TBR Pile

romanceweekly

Thank you for hopping over from Jo Richardson’s blog post.  You can find Jo’s latest novel, Cursed Be the Wicked, available for download on Amazon.

This week, Elizabeth Janette wants to know what’s on our TBR list. Elizabeth’s novel, Redemption for Liars, is also available on Amazon.

Here’s the blurb:

Welcome to Hill’s Creek, Texas, where the townsfolk like their secrets the same way they like their steaks . . . big and juicy. Don’t worry. Nobody’s secrets stay buried for long.

Until his socialite sister took a swan dive out her penthouse window, FBI Agent Jonah White’s life had been fairly simple: track down bad guys and slap a pair of silver bracelets on them. Nursing a guilty conscience gnawing at his heart, he heads to Hill’s Creek, Texas, to investigate the one woman who just might be connected to his sister’s death. Falling in love with her, a possible accomplice to murder, was never part of the plan.

Recently widowed Maya Savantes is barely keeping her head above water. With a precocious five-year-old to raise, and a growing pile of debt to wade through, she doesn’t have time for a romp through the sheets with a mysterious stranger – no matter how sexy he is. But when her deceased husband’s trigger-happy loan shark comes looking to collect on old debts, Jonah might be the only one who can protect her.

Now, about that TBR pile of mine.

ON KINDLE

Sweet Bea (Sir Arthur’s Legacy Book 1) – Sarah Hegger (reading at the moment)
Corralling the Cowboy – Katie O’Connor
Cursed be the Wicked – J.R. Richardson
The Falls – Ian Rankin (won this at Xio’s release party 😀 )
A Family Affair: Truth in Lies (Truth in Lies, Book 1) – Mary Campisi
The Lake (The Lake Trilogy, Book 1) – Annalisa Grant
Love Conquers – J.M. Cagle
The Mating: The Original Law of the Lycans Story – Nicky Charles (it’s a meh. I try reading clean through and end up passing for something else, but I will finish regardless)
Promise (Soul Savers Book 1) – Kristie Cook
Rising (The Rising Series Book 1) – Holly Kelly
Sunshine Hunter (A Susan Hunter Mystery Book 1) – Maddie Cochere
Where’s My Hero? (Brotherhood/MacAllister series) – Lisa Kleypas/Julia Quinn/Kinley MacGregor
Wicked Designs (The League of Rogues) – Lauren Smith
Winner Take All – Denyse Bridger
Worth Any Price (Bow Street Runners Book 3) – Lisa Kleypas
A Winter Wedding: A Five Senses Short – Gemma Brocato
The Calum (The Calum Series Book 1) – Xio Axelrod
Heart of the Arena – Mishka Jenkins
Emily’s Vow (A More Perfect Union Series, Book 1) – Betty Bolte
Unexpected Eden – Rhenna Morgan
Coming Down – Carrie Elks
Chef d’Amour – Brenda Margriet

EPUB

Captivated By His Kiss: A Limited Edition Boxed Set of Seven Regency Romances with Collette Cameron’s BRIDE OF FALCON
Fortune Cookie Magic – Dee Dawning
Dark Wolf Rising – Rhyannon Byrd
Free Air – Sinclair Lewis
The Star Rover – Jack London
Blue Spring’s Queen – Laurie Robinson
Sizzle – Julie Garwood
Poor Folk – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
The People Of The Mist – H. Rider Haggard
Roman’s Gold (Underground Heat Book) – Ann Gimpel
The Book of Tea – Kakuzo Okakura
A Demon’s Desire – Lizzy Ford

PAPERBACK

Blue-Eyed Devil – Lisa Kleypas (this shocked me, being written in first-person. I set it aside and will finish it after the dust settles 😉  )
Something New – Nora Roberts
Mercy – B.J. Daniels
When Love Awaits – Johanna Lindsey
Mystic Guardian – Patricia Rice
Orchid – Jayne Castle
The Lone Star Lonely Hearts’ Club – Susan McBride
Smooth-Talking Stranger – Lisa Kleypas
Flirting With Forever – Gwyn Cready (not liking this one. Bad writing, I think.)
The Perfect Bride – Brenda Joyce

HARLEQUIN PB

Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch – B.J. Daniels (I have to tell y’all . . . this one is weird. It’s about a prince from some Eastern Bloc ‘island’ who has an Irish surname and speaks perfect English while working in tandem, mind you, with the FBI. Too funny.)
Under His Spell – Kirstin Hardy
Ransom for a Prince – Lisa Childs
The Makeover Mission – Mary Buckham
Lethal Affair – Jean Thomas
Love in Bloom – Arlene James

(These were desperation purchases while still a penniless nobody, and for .25 for 4 at the local library’s annual book fair – LOL. I intend to read each one, though I find them to be a bit campy and altogether predictable.)

RESEARCH STUFF

A History of Russia – Nicholas V. Riasanovsky
Characters & Viewpoint – Orson Scott Card
Chronicles of Old Salem – Frances Diane Robotti
The Mythology of Native North Americans – David Leeming/Jake Page
My Name is Red – Orhan Pamuk

Before I leave you, I’m curious to know how many of you have the same books on your list, or if you’ve already read some that are on mine. I’d love to hear your thoughts and opinions!

I’ve already read lots more in the past few months than I have all year. Writer’s Blues (not block) and an inner need to study more about POV induced me to read more than write.

There’s also the annoying fact of my having recently published — so not wanting to write anything else after all that hard work, two years of editing, revising, omitting, reading and re-reading again and again . . .

😀 The urge to write is back, though! 😀

I hope there are no type-o’s here, because while trying to get this post together, I’ve been thinking about what to add to my latest novel 😉

Now, let’s all hop on over to visit with J.J. Devine and read her TBR list.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Romance Weekly Blog Hop – The TBR Pile

  1. sarahhegger says:

    Keep going with Blue-eyed Devil, it’s so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaineBalkera says:

      Hi, Sarah. Thanks for reading my TBR list today. No worries. I am such a huge fan of Miss Lisa, there is no way I won’t read anything she writes. 😀 Can’t say the same about anything written in first-person, though.

      Like

  2. Rain, that is one healthy & ambitious TBR list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaineBalkera says:

      Hi, Kim! Thanks for stopping by and reading my list. Like Sarah said, I am an avid and voracious reader. I breeze through novels about as well as I can a bag of Lay’s Potato Chips 😉

      Like

  3. Wow, what a list woman!!! Do you have time for anything else?

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaineBalkera says:

      Hello, Collette! Thanks for reading my post 😀 I’m a little surprised that people think it is a lot to read. I wanted to be able to make a list of everything I’ve already read, too! LOL

      Like

  4. gemmabrocato says:

    Raine, I go to library sales too. Have gotten some exceptional books that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaineBalkera says:

      Hi, Gemma! Thanks for reading my post 😀 Who doesn’t love a good sale, huh? I’m just not one to gravitate toward Harlequin’s is all. They were too cheap to pass up, and as I said, I was pretty darn broke at the time. 😉

      Like

  5. asfenichel says:

    I feel completely inadequate after reading you list. Wow! just wow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaineBalkera says:

      why? o__0 Heck, I’ll read just about anything. When I’m in a car, I have to read every billboard, building name, sign post, street sign . . . habit. Every night before bed I clear through some chapters. When I awaken, I’ll read a few more. Crawl out of bed, get my day underway, take a break to read some more, go back to work, WRITE! and then start all over again. If the book is awesome, I’ll finish it in one sitting, though 😀 Thanks for reading my post!

      Like

  6. Oh, girl. Go pick Blue Eyed Devil back up. You won’t regret it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It seems you and I are in the same boat, lol. And yay! I hope you enjoy The Calum. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jjdevine says:

    That is some list!!! Adding a few more to my TBR!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jami Denise says:

    You’ve got one heck of a list lady! Enjoy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh, so many to add to my list! I don’t know where everyone finds such a great range of books for their lists 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

