Romance Weekly Blog Hop – Favorite Carol

romanceweekly

Hello, and thank you for hopping over from Collette Cameron‘s blog.  This week, Xio Axelrod wants to know what is our favorite Christmas song or carol.

This is a fun one, and I can’t wait to read what everyone chose!

Before I answer, let me just explain that Christmas for me is highly traditional — a mix of Catholic Latin Mass, Russian Orthodox custom, and memories of grade school with nuns for teachers.

Tradition begins the holiday with Advent (1st of 4 Sundays prior to Dec. 25th) but it isn’t until December 24th, right after attending Vespers and Matins, that the tree, a manger, and holiday decorations are set up before attending Solemn High Midnight Mass.

Years ago, as tiny tots so to speak, my siblings and I used to awaken on Christmas morning to a tree, its trimmings, and the presents. It was truly magical how it all occurred without our ever knowing — and honestly believing it was Santa who did all that work.

St. Nicholas always left candy inside our shoes at home and in school, but on his feast day (Dec. 6) and not at Christmas.

The decorations remain and the festivities continue until January 6 (Epiphany), but for years as a child, our decorations remained until the 12th (Russian Orthodox).

Now, to answer that question. I like a lot of the classic tunes, and Donnie Hathaway’s This Christmas just makes me smile, dance, and sing no matter how often it is played on the radio.

Still, the one that stands out most, represents the season best, and never fails to choke me up so that I am unable to sing along without weeping is . . .

Please, if you would kindly hop on over to Gemma Brocato‘s blog now, let’s find out together what song she chose as her favorite.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Romance Weekly Blog Hop – Favorite Carol

  1. Love your traditions, Raine. And the song is lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely song and wonderful traditions!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gemmabrocato says:

    I’m ashamed to admit that I always missed St. Nick with my kids. I usually tried to make it up to them the next day by telling them he got lost, but they never believed me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jjdevine says:

    Thank you for sharing your traditions with us. So wonderful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. J.R.Richardson says:

    You could have Barbara sing a grocery list and I’d love it. Wonderful choice Rain XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

