Romance Weekly Love-Write-Chat Blog Hop

romanceweekly

Thank you for hopping over from Brenda Margriet’s post. This week’s blog hop questions come from JJ Devine.

You’re moving right along with a story-line and suddenly it takes an unexpected twist. Do you go with the flow and follow where the twist leads you, or do you conform the story to your way?

😀 I always go with the flow, but that doesn’t make it a wise thing to do; especially with writing. I believe that sometimes it’s important to stick with your gut — the original reason for your having wanted to write a particular piece in the first place.

When editing, this tendency to switch gears crops up almost inevitably, and it has two impacts: creating a better, more exciting tale or creating a big enough diversion that the entire point of the story has strayed off course.

It is always great to have a new idea pop into my head while I’m editing — to enhance the original story, though, and not change it entirely. The key, I think, is to realize the issue early on and then force yourself to make that decision: continue in this direction and then go back to rewrite all the parts prior, or STOP what you’re doing right now, delete all that wanderlust wording, and get back on track.

IF you want to publish, that is 😉

What time of year is your best time for writing? Winter, Summer, Fall, Spring?

Great Lakes

Great Lakes

Winter. My least favorite season because Michigan winters are long, gray, brutal, and blizzard-prone, with the occasional ice storm tossed in the mix toward the end.

However, since I tend to go into hibernation mode around the end of November, this is an ideal time to hunker down in two pairs of everything and an electric blanket after having made sure there is enough hot water boiled for things like tea and cocoa.

I work from home, am always on my laptop, and start my day around 9 a.m. with writing in mind. It’s too cold to go for walks outside (or do anything outdoors, for that matter) and for whatever reason, being cozy is a major conductor of imagination spark for me.

There is nothing else to do in Michigan in winter besides hibernate . . . or write while in hibernation mode. What could possibly distract me from writing?

When looking for a publisher, do you choose a traditional press, go the Indie route, or choose one that does both E-book and print?

Right now I still think my best opportunity to get started in this business is to go the Indie route. My son (editor, coach, support) disagrees wholeheartedly and insists I’m nothing if not entirely worthy of submitting to brick & mortar if I want to be a successful author.

I agree! I’m just not inclined to subject myself to the submission process and all its rules, guidelines, and booby-traps! One wrong move on my part — and I am old enough to know I’m capable of at least one — and I could be screwed for life. Being a total coward, that’s a scary prospect for someone in my newbie position to want to risk.

I don’t like the idea of synopsis writing and checklists, do’s and don’t’s and such. I need major discipline in this area before I’ll attempt going the traditional route, but believe me, that doesn’t mean I won’t . . . eventually.

Both is the cherry on top, yes?

Great questions, J.J.! That was fun, as usual. As always, I appreciate being a part of this fabulous group of Romance Authors, and I look forward to participating again soon.

Now, kindly keep the hop going by dropping in on Dani Jace to find out how she answered this week’s great questions.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Romance Weekly Love-Write-Chat Blog Hop

  1. gemmabrocato says:

    Winter, huh? I love winter and I write well during that season. But I have to relocate from my office to my family room so I can sit in the sunshine while I’m writing. But it really is my favorite season.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think one of the great things about how publishing being in such a state of flux is that authors can choose the path that feels best to them. And while I am sooooooo not ready for the snow to fall, Winter is one of my most productive times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hi, Brenda, me, too. Here, it is long. About eight months long, so there is plenty of time to get things done. Last year was particularly brutal, and it is predicted that this year will be the same. Yippee 😦 Thank you for dropping in to say hello!

      Like

  3. sarahhegger says:

    I disagree with your son (respectfully). I don’t think the trad route is any indication of having earned the right. I think you’re right to keep your mind and options open. And let’s face it, submit/reject and repeat to infinity really does suck

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hi, Sarah, and no worries. He’s a traditionalist in a lot of ways. His mother is as non-traditional as they come. Still, even to receive a rejection letter means I’ve tried my best to do things in a way that seems terrifying to me. I need to stretch myself in order to grow a thicker hide. Esp in this market! Thank you kindly for stopping by and saying hello, too 😀

      Like

  4. Oh, the dreaded synopsis. Ugh.
    I don’t think there is any right way for an author to get published, and often times, what we want changes over a period of time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hi, Collette, and thanks for stopping by! When I read things like ‘limit to two pages’ and ‘don’t tell the whole story, just enough to give us an idea . . . ‘ and ‘wrong department’ after having poured over the website time and again, it’s just scary-frustrating for someone flighty and impatient like me. Still, I know what I need to do, I know I’d like to try the traditional route, and with time and effort, I will succeed. Just need to find someone willing to write the synopsis for me 😉

      Like

  5. I think you have to decide which is best for you! There are tons of authors doing both indie and traditional publishing, and it’s all about trying and seeing which suits you and your writing the best 🙂

    Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hello, Mishka! Thanks so much for stopping by to say hello. You are absolutely right, of course. It is my intention to try both, but I think Indie is easier and safer for now. Have a wonderful day!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. J.R.Richardson says:

    Love your thought process Rai. Go with your gut – in all areas! 🙂
    All you northerners are making me chilly today though. I think I need to move my lappy outside for a while to warm up. LOL 😉 XOXO!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      LOL – it’s actually quite pleasant here, and there was even a news write-up about it! That says something about our weather. It’s the first nice, dry pattern here in . . . FOUR YEARS! And, if the next-door neighbor wasn’t still running their whining, clanking, grinding a/c, I’d be out on the patio as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. jjdevine says:

    I love how so many of us snowbirds hide away and write in the winter months 🙂 Loved your answers!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hi J.J., and yes, we’ve an ingrained need to hibernate 😉 Thanks for the compliment, and I can’t wait to dive into your novel! I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

      Like

Please let me know what you think!

