Romance Weekly Blog Hop

romanceweekly

Do you like to read romance novels? Would you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all . . . about our writing, of course! Every week we’ll answer questions, and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site, we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends, and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

Thank you for hopping over from Kim Handysides blog. And, thank you to Ronnie Allen for providing this week’s thought-provoking questions, too. Here are my responses:

When do you decide that you’ve done enough editing and changes would now be making it different, not better, so it’s the time to submit?

I actually did a blog post about this very subject. It worries me to over-edit as much as it does to under-edit any piece of work.

Consistent feedback — bad — on a particular area of the manuscript is a red flag moment that requires attention. Instead of going back and reworking the whole thing, I’d rather concentrate on the areas in question. This way the entire story doesn’t end up becoming a new piece but a better, more acceptable work.

Being able to recall the specific areas in the manuscript that fall into the same lines as the critique of one area, in other words.

There is a difference, I think, between doing what an editor advises and going back to rewrite an entire manuscript so that it ends up being a completely new story, though. The temptation to change everything after revising one section sometimes occurs, too. Don’t do it!

Feedback that tends to lean more toward the positive is when I know it’s time to stop editing and get on with publishing a work.

When and how do you accept change advice by rejection letters and critique partners?

Right now I’m still at the Indie, self-publish stage of my career. Rejection slips aren’t something I can remark on (just yet).

As for critiques in general, I’ve learned a lot. I can tell when someone hasn’t read much of anything or in a variety of genres. Also, those who say things like isn’t done, can’t be written that way, or that’s not how . . . all of these remarks are ignored.

I’m also able to distinguish between those who know and those who believe one way is the only way. Again, I will avoid letting these types of remarks enter into my head to bring me down (or confuse me, as is usually the case).

I crave advise even if I’ve always been a ‘bitch’ magnet, so to speak. It never fails. Still, when it comes to advice about dynamics, structure, and flow, then I’m all ears. Constructive criticism meant to help strengthen my work, not rip it apart with a lot of personal view, personal taste, and personal opinion.

I’d rather not hear comments about how they write, how they like things to read, and how I should do what they do because . . .

A majority of the negative feedback I receive is about their not knowing the answers to things that will be revealed a few paragraphs down or in the next chapter — with definite purpose and not because I like to confuse or upset the reader.

Stephen King is quoted as saying: “Good books don’t give up all their secrets at once.” — so there.

When you’re not writing, how do you spend your day or do you create your day around your writing?

The most difficult time for me to write or concentrate on my writing is the weekends. Now that I’ve found gainful employment, though, my entire daily schedule is so mixed up, I don’t know what’s going on anymore.

The weekends are starting to look and seem more prosperous in that regard now.

Add that to the fact this job is writing articles for a web site, so I start writing soon after I wake up, do a lot of editing of previous articles, and then when I can’t stand it anymore, I stop (work) for the day. Then I’m inclined to waste a few hours on Facebook before going on to my own WIP.

Facebook is the devil 😀

I wish there was a magic potion to drop into my tea each morning that auto-invokes the writing muse. How productive would we all become then, huh?

As always, I appreciate your having taken the time to drop in and visit me. Now let’s hop on over to Veronica Forand‘s blog and see how she responds to these questions about the necessary evil of critique.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Romance Weekly Blog Hop

  1. jjdevine says:

    When you come up with that magic potion please pass it along 🙂 Very good blog, Raine!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christy Carlyle says:

    Yes, Raine. Put me in for some magic potion too. 🙂 I like your honesty about the struggle to find writing time. That’s true for many of us, and yet the fact that we do struggle indicates how much this is our passion and work of our heart. Good luck carving out those times, and with your new job!

    Like

    • RaiBal says:

      You’re on the list! and, Thank you so much for the encouraging words, Christy! Thanks, too, for stopping by to say hello. I’m thankful for the job after 3 years of unemployment, near starvation, and homelessness! The new schedule is coming into shape, but slowly. Last night I wrote 2 chapters in under an hour, so I feel good about my WIP 😉

      Like

  3. If you find a good fb exorcist, let me know! Great post, Raine.

    Like

    • RaiBal says:

      LOL, Kim. You don’t know how many times I’ve deleted everything (games, groups) only to turn back around a few months later and rejoin them all. Sigh. Only when the dry spells with writing occur, though. I’ll be sure and let you in on the secret once it’s revealed! Thanks kindly for stopping by and saying hello 😀

      Like

  4. The internet is such a temptation, and I can easily get distracted too 😀 Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. danijace says:

    I like how your have a music page on your site. Cool idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hi, Dani! Thanks for stopping by to say hello. Yes, without music, I’d be nothing for sure. When I began this blog back in January, the topic of music came up several times, so I decided to add some of my favorites in case anyone was interested.

      Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

