Flavor #32

good_humor_truck

A local ice cream parlor invites you to create a new wacky flavor. It needs to channel the very essence of your personality. What’s in it?

**UPDATE: 216 spam comments caught for this post alone to-date. Amazing.**

There were a lot of funny and interesting responses to today’s Daily Prompt, and since I’ve been a poor sport this week not responding to anything much, I figure it’s time I jumped back in and tried my best to say something . . . anything to end this strange and wonderful week.

Not a huge fan of the frozen confection, but over the years I’ve found a few that hit the spot and made me crave more on rare occasions.

First, it was a tiny parlor in a nearby mall that is going the way of the dinosaur. I ordered a scoop of coconut ice cream because it sounded intriguing. Every summer, my mother bought fresh coconuts and she’d give me a hammer and a bucket. I’d go outside, press my feet between the bucket, grab the hammer with both hands, and whack away until the nut cracked.

I always got to drink the water inside. Yum! So, this creamy, white treat smelled as heavenly and tasted even better. Now, that’s what I call ice cream. The little parlor went bye-bye, though, and so did my chance to satisfy that occasional craving.

Then came green tea ice cream. Not everyone’s favorite, but it sure made me smile. Expensive as heck, though. And, like the mall parlor, the little Japanese market where I could buy green tea ice cream now has a FOR LEASE sign taped to the storefront window.

Sigh.

What about champagne? Is there a champagne flavored ice cream or sorbet out there? I think that would be a terrific way to satisfy the occasional craving, don’t you?

As for my personality, I couldn’t begin to figure out which ingredients would best describe the nine people living inside one body. There would definitely be nuts involved, because I am. I don’t care too much for chocolate, and I can’t stand the smell of vanilla. However, vanilla ice cream happens to go good with just about anything else I can think of to mix with it, turn into a smoothie, and dine away for about twenty minutes while I’m writing.

Vanilla ice cream and orange juice. Vanilla ice cream and banana. Vanilla ice cream and grape juice. Vanilla ice cream and chopped up fruits. Vanilla ice cream and root beer. Vanilla ice cream and Vernor’s! Wow, do I remember drinking Vernor’s floats as a kid.

The dirty mind in me nearly kept me from participating today, too. So, let’s toss in some Chunky Monkey, because that was another of the rare instances when ice cream had its appeal.

I’m icy on occasion, soft and gooey in the center, more’s the pity, nutty as mentioned above, and yet I’m still not keen on the idea of having anyone licking or eating me. :s

All hail Champagne Ice!

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flavor #32

  1. Pingback: Flavor #32 – My Ice Cream flavor | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: 31 Flavors Just Got Cooler! | TyroCharm

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Payday” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Please let me know what you think!

