Romance Weekly Blog Hop June 24 #LoveWriteChat

romanceweekly

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all . . . about our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

Thank you for hopping over from Fiona Riplee‘s blog! Collette Cameron supplied this week’s questions. Thanks, Collette!

How do you respond to someone calling your writing smut or demeaning your work in some other way?

I hate to admit that part of the reason I never let anyone know what I write for close to 30 years was because of that stigma. I get little support from family/friends, who say nasty things about smut, trash, and filth novels. I get just as miffed when people say yeah, I’ve read a few bodice rippers. I’m thinking, so, the last time you read anything was 1972? Interesting. 😉

To those who say such things to my face now (including friends/family): I throw Jane Austen at them, and Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin, Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind, Boris Pasternak’s Dr. Zhivago, and anything else I can think of that is ‘amazing’ to the world and yet isn’t considered romance when it is! Or, I ask them, did you like The Notebook? They usually shut up.

I’m a writer; it’s what I do, and the chosen fiction I desire to write about is romance. I can’t be made to feel anything other than proud of my efforts, and I really don’t want to let these hurtful comments bring me down. The statistics prove our writing is what sells most, and we have more support blogs to prove that point than any, other form of fiction. With that in mind, the ego boost comes in thinking that these negative remarks are made by closet readers of romance and leave it go at that 😉

When critiquing or beta reading, do you ever find the voice of the other author creeping into your writing?

No. I even read while I’m writing (which some say is a no-no) and only jot down interesting style techniques meant to convey emotion — which I’m a bit not good at — and go right back to writing in my own style. I’m too afraid of being a copy-cat to let it slip into my own writing. When I come across a witty or refreshing passage, I wish I’d thought of it first. 😀

What’s one quirky thing you do or must have around you while writing?

Music. Period. I can’t concentrate or think without soma.fm’s Groove Salad or one of my instrumental playlists in the background. It also helps to drown out the distracting, outside noises in summer. Oh, well, there’s my diet coke and e-cig. Ah, and my wall pictures! Almost forgot those. I may be too old for this, but I tape images of hot guys, tropical locales, castles, and anything else I was inspired by for whatever manuscript I’m working on at the moment. Sorry, that was more than just one thing. (pardon me)

Thank you for dropping by and reading my responses to this week’s #LoveWriteChat!
Next, let’s go visit Leslie Hachtel and find out what she has to say.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Romance Weekly Blog Hop June 24 #LoveWriteChat

  1. I love your writing quirks! My office is a part of the house where I can’t tape things on the wall, although I can cover the inside of the cabinet I store my work in, hmmmm. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My prob with music is that I’m addicted to lyrics & they interfere with the words in my head, but I’m going to check out that GroveSalad (love the name) for other occasions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      I cannot listen to lyrics while I write. My dyslexic brain isn’t wired for two sets of thought running at once 😉 I just need sound, and not white noise, which puts me to sleep. Thanks for dropping in!

      Like

  3. Fiona Riplee says:

    I like how you turn the negative remarks into closet romance writers. Probably true and will never admit they read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jjdevine says:

    You’re never too old to appreciate 🙂 Loved your writing quirks!!! Great answers!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ronnie Allen says:

    Love it that you’re not letting people affect you re content. I get that too. Because I was a teacher in my former life, people assume, incorrectly, that I write PG. Well surprise, surprise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      How neat is it that we’re both former teachers!? I’ll bet I’ve got one up on you, though. I taught 3rd grade for 8 years at a private CATHOLIC school 😉 I’m still writing R, though. Need a bit more courage to go full bore and write something along the erotica, pushing that X button lines. Thanks so much for dropping in and saying hello!

      Like

  6. danijace says:

    There’s no age limit for admiring handsome men! Some of my friends say, ‘oh, he’s old enough to be my son’ and I say, “Yeah but he’s NOT! Enjoy the view!”

    Liked by 2 people

    • RaiBal says:

      Okay, that’s just funny. You’re brave, too. I’m still ripping everything down and hiding it whenever someone comes over (blush). I’m such a coward and need to get over myself in a few ways. My daughter and her friends think I’m crazy, but they also say I’m the coolest mom around, too. 😀 Thanks a whole bunch for stopping by and saying hello!

      Like

      • danijace says:

        I have a nicely framed (expensive) poster of the Gladiator movie poster with Russell Crowe in my living room. No one knows the movie inspired me to write my first book. I suppose guests think I’m eccentric middle-aged mom! Stay strong!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Jami Denise says:

    I have to have music or some sort of background noise as well. It is never quiet in my house, so that helps center me a little bit.
    I always have a coke… and I just started using an ecig… so soon my pack of Marlboro’s will be replaced by my purple cig 😀
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Thank you for dropping by and saying hello, Jami. We sound like kindred souls! 😀 My pack of VS are at the ready as well, but these e-cigs are amazing and make me feel so health-conscious at the same time. We’ll blame it on nerves 😉

      Like

  8. J.R.Richardson says:

    HERE HERE woman! I love that you throw those books in the critics faces and I think it’s sad that you don’t get enough support. People who love YOU should love what you DO. Period. I’m a music junky too – I will search for HOURS for the right song for a chapter or scene, it makes all the difference. 🙂 XOXO!

    Liked by 1 person

    • J.R.Richardson says:

      PS – unless you do drugs, then they should never support you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • RaiBal says:

        LOL 😀 No, I don’t do drugs and wouldn’t want support in favor of continuing, either 😀
        Thanks for dropping by and saying hello. I wish I had more support, too. Since meeting you guys on Facebook, though, it has been a tremendous help mentally and writing-wise. I appreciate your support, so thanks, again, for being a friend 🙂

        Like

        • J.R.Richardson says:

          I totally did not mean that to sound like you do drugs. OMG. LOL but you know what I mean – and we are lucky and happy to have you Rai! WRITE on woman!

          Liked by 1 person

          • RaiBal says:

            I know what you meant and didn’t think you were being anything but hilarious! Sorry if I made it sound the opposite. I’m glad to be with you guys, too. Believe me! I need all the help and encouragement I can get. I’ll try my best to be as uplifting, encouraging, and friendly to you guys as you’ve been to me.

            Like

Please let me know what you think!

