Gone with the Windfall

One-hundred-dollar notes are placed on a desk for counting

You just inherited $1,000,000 from an aunt you didn’t even know existed. What’s the first thing you buy (or otherwise use the money for)?

Oh, my dear, sweet Aunty Mame has passed on – I’m sure to be reincarnated as another spectacular woman in another fascinating realm.

And, hot dog! (It’s A Wonderful Life) She left me a million bucks for being related!

As a disillusioned kid, I used to make-believe Rosalind Russell’s character was MY aunt, and that we lived together in that way, totally cool sky-rise apartment in Family Affair. And, of course, Mr. Giles (Sebastian Cabot) stayed on as our butler. He sometimes dated Mrs. Livingston (Miyoshi Umeki) from Courtship of Eddie’s Father.

I played with Kato (Bruce Lee – Green Hornet) and Peter Brady (Christopher Knight) on rainy days indoors, too.

Today’s TVLand re-runs once helped to spur my imagination, but once I put pen to paper, that part of my childhood quickly faded away. Aside from getting lost in countless books, I created my own fake people and made them do what I wanted them to do, and it was lots of fun.

Today, every character in every manuscript I’ve ever written is beyond wealthy. Other-worldly types are at the very top of the food chain while my contemporaries are self-made, inheritors, or lucky beyond description. Because I can’t be and am not.

If by some freak mistake one of my late aunts happened to leave me anything at all, or a million big ones, the first thing I’d do is pay off my student loan debt. Then I’d buy a decent, used car (cash), and then find someone talented to create a book cover that SELLS. After, I’d start fixing up Ma’s house – it’s starting to fall apart.

Daily Prompt     Clever!     LOL     Clever, as always

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please let me know what you think!

