Writing 101: Day Five

Be Brief
You discover a letter on a path that affects you deeply. Today, write about this encounter. And your twist? Be as succinct as possible.

____________________________________________________

Mentally, I’m still treading through the darkest, longest tunnel known to man. There is no light at the end of this tunnel, and yet I continue to move forward; it can’t be helped.

I want out.

Daylight, fresh air, a sound other than my own footsteps, some clarity and meaning would be nice.

Until now I’ve encountered broken glass, scraps, plastic trash bags, a few bottle caps, and other meaningless, discarded junk of no use to anyone – like me. We’re in this thing together, my unwanted companions and I.

Today, however, a tiny slip of paper catches my eye. My pace quickens, and then I look down.

It’s one of those Fortune Cookie things. I find the nerve to crack a smile; even smirk.

Knowing it isn’t my fortune but someone else’s; someone who may not have liked what they read or read it, had a good laugh, and then tossed it thinking nothing more of the matter.

I pick it up anyway and ignore the good luck numbers on one side. What use are those numbers to me when I haven’t the money or even pocket change to gamble? Is there a lottery booth somewhere in this tunnel, I wonder?

I flip it over and read the fortune.

“Keep going, you’re worth it.”

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Writing 101: Day Five

  1. Put It Together 4 U says:

    EXCELLENT, Rain! I was walking with you…kicking at the mess left behind by former wanderers. Well-written suspense with quite an unexpected (and joyful) ending! Loved it!

    ~ Angela

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Brevity | To write is to write is to write

  3. Kathy Waller says:

    Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tyrocharm says:

    Against a gloomy background, the prompt for self appreciation put a smile on my face. subtle.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. J.E. says:

    I think you did a terrific job with a rather tricky assignment.

    Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

