How to Vanish in 4 Easy Steps

aginginplace.com

aginginplace.com

An extra room has magically been added to your home overnight. The catch: if you add more than three items to it, it disappears. How do you use it?

I don’t think I would.

If I knew where that disappearing room went after the unforeseen mishap occurs, then maybe.

This place doesn’t need another room, but I thought it was clever of some to use it as a way to dispose of unwanted things like clutter, and … people (giggled).

With my luck, I’d do what comes natural and invite my laptop, a desk, and a chair into the room – but, what about me, then? Am I considered the 4th object?

I could 86 the desk then and sit on the floor (if it’s made of downy soft cottony substance that makes me feather-light so my tailbone doesn’t cause temporary paralysis about 20 minutes in). I could lay on my tummy as well, I suppose, but even when I do that in bed, it becomes increasingly difficult to type. I’m propped up on my elbows already, and my lower arms end up making me seem rubber spider-ish, which makes me start to laugh, and then I forget what it was I was typing.

So, back to this magical (strange) room. What happens if, while I’m in there with my laptop, me, and a diet coke when, say, a fly decides to have a look-see? *POOF! Yikes.

Or, I’m in the room with my laptop and a chair when Ma opens the door to ask if I’m hungry (again … like, five times per day) … *Plink!

I’m in my mysterious room with my laptop and Diet Coke, and the cat pushes the door open with his nose, sauntering toward me with that “I’m really not that into you, I just want some attention right now” look on his cute face. *Doink!

This isn’t my idea of a good time.

Well, it would be if I knew where this silly room went after such mishaps! Do I and my precious 2 other belongings go with it, or do we land unceremoniously on the ground to amuse the neighbors?

Does it return the next day for me to try, try again, I wonder?

Daily Prompt

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How to Vanish in 4 Easy Steps

  1. You’re right, it could be scary. Or it could be a kind of trap….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Zarah says:

    You*d probably need to make sure that no one comes in while you’re in the room. But then it said “3 items”. Do you consider yourself an item? I don’t … and I just took it on good faith that my stereo and a USB stick are only two “items”. 😉

    Then there’s also the question: Does only the room disappear if you bring too much stuff in or does the stuff disappear too? It might just be left outside on the lawn or the sidewalk, or in one of the other rooms, or in the hallway …

    Where do things disappear to? Douglas Adams saiys somewhere there is a ballpen planet where all the ballpens go that people lose. They have their own little world there. ‘lol’ Maybe there is also a laptop planet …

    Somehow I was reminded of the “Room of Requirement” in Hogwarts. It magically appears when you are in need of a room, and you will find exactly what you need in it. 🙂

    But it*s an interesting idea, to use the room to make things disappear. Never thought of thta. I just used the space … thanx for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Or socks! There must be a lost sock planet out there somewhere! Interesting use of the * to replace the ‘ btw, and thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it. 😀

      Like

  3. Be Inspired says:

    Oh man, that was so cute

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: EXHALE-INHALE | Be Inspired

Please let me know what you think!

