First-World Abolitionist

happy-place

Even without the aid of Corti-Slim, I am determined to stay here – grounded and with a rightful purpose.

To work on improving my writing skills in order to make a living as a recognized author.

Writing about this particular subject in a positive/negative light is fine with me, because it serves the purpose of the blog space. I’m here to work things out, get things right, and move forward on a self-appointed quest.

Writing about personal issues, my personal life, and all of the bitterness, sadness, hatred, and woes wasn’t part of the bargain.

I signed up for this Writing 101 course as a way to improve my writing, and today’s prompt wasn’t at all what I wanted or expected, which ended up making me feel blue and not want to participate.

But, then there are you guys with your encouraging words and thought-provoking messages. The OTHER reason for creating this blog. I was told to connect with others who share similar interests, and now I realize how important it is to be and stay connected with the outside world.

THANK YOU! ❤

Still, the challenge presented made me think I might not be such a great novelist after all. Not if I can’t play by the rules and just do what I’m told without wanting to bail because the topic didn’t please me. It helps others to write those ghastly episodes out, but not me. Others can take something disgusting and turn it around so that it comes out smelling like Mountain Laurel after Midnight. I can’t, though.

Which means my talent leaves something to be desired. Which means I’m still learning. Which means I need to spend a bit more time thinking before setting pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. But, still, there was today’s prompt and something I just don’t want to think about or dwell on or try to sugar-coat in any way, shape, or form.

It’s over, and I’d rather forget than dwell. I’ve already done the what if’s thing, and I’ve spent countless hours wondering what might have, could have, and even should have occurred as opposed to what actually took place.

It’s over.

Thinking about it further still, I do, actually incorporate some of this First World tragedy into my writing. Not to say my stories are about real-life horror, crime, abuse, and scandal, because I don’t like to go there in reality, so why would I force it upon my characters and unsuspecting readers?

Fantasy, silly fiction stuff with bits and pieces of First World issues tossed in the mix. Divorce – first world. Death – first world. Unfair treatment – First World. Lost love – First World. Back Stab, Two Time – First World. The kind of issues that, if they happen to others, we pout and make that ‘aw’ noise, pat the victim on the back and wish them well kind of stuff.

Going true reality, though, is a bit much. I’d hate to somehow come across as being unsympathetic, too sympathetic, and even schmaltzy sympathetic about such things. Okay, so in one of my stories I deal with the issue of physical violence man on woman style. It’s other-world genre in nature, though. She has special powers, is on earth for a time, and sets out avenging these women in one way or another before bumping into Mr. Right when the story starts and then it’s about them – with the former victims as sub-plot characters.

Emotional neglect, alcohol-related stupidity, and ego-inducing drama are about as First World as I’ll go in my writing. I’ve experienced enough First World to know what it’s like and can write about it with what I hope is a fair amount of style and grace.

So, there. I guess in a round-about way I do write in a helpful manner; for both me and the reader.

ON THIS DAY

1883 – The first regularly scheduled Orient Express departs Paris (1st world)

1941 – World War II: Four thousand Chongqing residents are asphyxiated in a bomb shelter during the Bombing of Chongqing (real world)

1956 – Elvis Presley introduces his new single, “Hound Dog”, on The Milton Berle Show, scandalizing the audience with his suggestive hip movements (1st world)

1963 – The British Secretary of State for War, John Profumo, resigns in a sex scandal known as the “Profumo affair” (1st world)

1968 – Robert F. Kennedy, a U.S. presidential candidate, is shot at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles, by Sirhan Sirhan, a Palestinian. Kennedy dies the next day (real world)

1981 – The “Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report” of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that five people in Los Angeles, California, have a rare form of pneumonia seen only in patients with weakened immune systems, in what turns out to be the first recognized cases of AIDS (real world)

1989 – The Tank Man halts the progress of a column of advancing tanks for over half an hour after the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989 (real world)

………………………………………………….

JuNoWriMo: pathetic. 😦  Nothing, again. Still at about 14,000 words. Two days straight of not writing my story.

I am, however, in the process of going back to yet, another of my old stories and reworking it. That makes 3 former manuscripts in less than two weeks. Oh, and I’m also thinking about removing my publication from Smashwords.

It’s just a thought, though.

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First-World Abolitionist

  1. Put It Together 4 U says:

    Hi, Rain!

    I am speechless. I understand you more than I thought I would. I remember my mother once saying, “It’s not just dead; it’s double-dead!” It took me some years to grasp the very concept of that saying’s meaning. Now that I am older, I find myself referring back to her phraseology and, nicely put, I say, “Let sleeping dogs lie.”

    Sidebar: It is nice to know that our commitment to Blogging U is all our own. We are not chastised for not writing, going off topic, or any of that jazz. I appreciate what you wrote today. You made it very plain: I AM NOT GOING THERE…NOT TODAY! Applauds loudly

    ‘See’ you tomorrow! 🙂

    ~ Angela

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Hi, Angela, and thanks for stopping by, reading, and commenting ❤ Your mom sounds like fun! I'm going to stick with the Part 2 and 3 of yesterdays prompt and somehow force myself to write it in a way that isn't so personal. That's my problem. I take everything too personal and literal. I look forward to hearing what you have to say, too! Glad we me, connected, and can share our views.

      Like

  2. Keep working at the writing! I saw on your ‘about’ that you are planning on 2014 as being your year; I’ll have my fingers crossed for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

