Writing 101, Day Three

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Nailing Brahms’ Hungarian Dance Number 5 on your alto sax. Making perfect pulled pork tacos. Drawing what you see. Or, writing a novel. Each requires that you make practice a habit.

Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.

Today’s twist: You’ll commit to a writing practice. The frequency and the amount of time you choose to spend today — and moving forward — are up to you, but we recommend a minimum of fifteen uninterrupted minutes per day.

11:26 a.m. and, go!

I don’t have three songs that are important to me or my life, so I wouldn’t be able to write about their meaning. Or, is this cryptic talk for 3 THINGS that are important to my life? I’m so confused!

I am typing, non-stop, for 15 minutes, though.

I like music, don’t get me wrong. I love music and even created a My Writing Music page (which is apparently insignificant here at WP, but whatever) that I daily post a new song I adore using my YouTube account and their code.

I actually can’t write without music playing in the background, though it can’t have vocals or I’ll get distracted. Instrumental music, classical variety, ambient, chill, the Groove Salad variety of music, and then there is the movie scores. I created a Movie Scores play list at my groove shark account with close to three hours of non-stop instrumental music. No, not the terrifying bashes that occur sometimes, but the slow, pretty, melodic stuff usually overlooked while watching a movie because the scenes themselves rob the ear of that background noise.

Are we permitted to stop and flex our fingers during these timed exercises? Or, sip some diet coke? If this is a law breaker, someone kindly inform me – thanks!

My passion is writing, and my inspiration probably comes more from images than music. Or, maybe I should be more direct and say my inspiration comes from a little of both. There have been times when I’ve listened to music and let my mind take me someplace else only to have a story develop without realizing it or meaning for it to happen.

The same is true with imagery. At my Pinterest page, I created a Invoke the Muses folder and pin all sorts of magical, wonderful, and amazing things there.

I hust realized that I’m back[spacing to correct my mistakes, and you asked me not to do that. Sorry!

For my Romance novel writing, (and even for the sheer heck of it pleasure) I will browse hunky guy images, and old school cover art. I’ll spend awhile reading romantic poems and lovey quotes posted/pinned by others, and then spend more time browsing portals, gardens, walkways, and moonlit scenery. Beaches, forests, and even bustling cityscapes for inspiration.

Inspiration for me also coems in reading others writing on blog posts, and downloading the rfree excerpts offered on eBook websites. Or, I might just walk away from the laptop and start walking around the neighborhood. My favorite inspiration moments come in spending time at the local library, though. It doesn’t matter the genre – though I do tend to make a bee-line to the fiction, romance section right off. I can spend countless hours there skimming page after page of book upon book and not get bored. On the way home, I’m filled with all kinds of ideas, thoughts, and things that need jotting down or more time to ponder. Then its right back to the laptop, where i try tdoing things like this, just typing without really planning anything (though I do go back and instantly correct my mistakes)

this is embarrassing.

Speaking of drawing … I got the idea in my head yesterday, after looking at all of the wonderful cover art being displayed at various groups on my Facebook page. I know my novel cover is pathetic and its embarrassing, and I also wish it wasn’t part of the reason no one is interested in reading my writing, but whatever. I started really looking at them and thought maybe I could possibly sketch something out that would look halfway decent. The thought didn’t last very long, though, because my artistic abilities are pretty bad.

Okay, so my time is up now, and again, I doubt I did what I was asked to do. I feel so out of place in this course, and like I’m invading the space of others more deserving ….

Writing 101: Day 3

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing 101, Day Three

  1. Put It Together 4 U says:

    Hi, Rain!

    I enjoyed reading this blog! OMG! The way your thoughts transitioned; the manner in which you ‘caught’ yourself making corrections; and (last but not least) your display of humility at the end kept me deeply involved. I can only imagine what more you would’ve said had you been given five more minutes. One thing I like about this course is that there are no strict rules in place. For this assignment (for example), we are given rules, but the rebel in me (giggles) cannot strictly adhere to them. I did free-write, but then I also returned to correct my boo-boos. There’s something to be said about pride, huh? Sigh

    Just a quick sidebar: Check out http://www.pagemodo.com/ for some awesome ideas for Cover Photos for your page (they only do Facebook, but there are ways to apply that same image to other social media accounts…is the rebel rearing its head again?) LOL!

    Awesome job on this assignment! Please do not consider leaving this course. I NEED YOU! 😀

    ~ Angela

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Angela, dear – you’re sweet! I appreciate your remarks about my work more than you’ll ever know. We’re both rebels, btw. Damn the rules, I say! 😀 I’m not a quitter, just a big-time whiner. 😉 The trouble I have trying to comply with these prompts are those rules. I feel compelled to abide by them (to the letter) while suppressing that rebel spirit we share. My son (my publicist and #1 fan) remarked that having pride is the sign of greatness (in writing, music, work-related things), so we need to keep that in mind as we move forward. Be proud of what you write, how you write, and even why you do it. Nothing wrong with that. I’ll check out the website you suggested. I’m more in the market for FREE, safe to use images for my first Indie published novel, actually. No such luck, though. I need you, too, so let’s continue to mentor one another during this course.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Put It Together 4 U says:

        Awwww… You’re welcome, Rain! Glad I could encourage you in some way. 🙂

        Please relay this message to your son: “Thank you for confirming my greatness!” LOL! I make no apologies for breaking the rules, especially when they are not beneficial to my purpose. OK. Enough about that. 😀

        Now that you made clear for me the reason you are seeking images, I have another link to offer up with FREE graphics. If you’re interested, here’s THAT link: http://marieleslie.com/eight-places-find-free-quality-graphics/

        I look forward to staying connected to you both in and out of Blogging University. Keep writing…and I’ll keep reading!

        Have a great day!

        ~ Angela

        Liked by 1 person

        • RaiBal says:

          I will (LOL) and thanks for the new link. Encouragement is a great thing. Especially for us writers. We’re a sensitive lot and need plenty of ego-stroking if we hope to amount to anything significant, I think. Not false praise or familial “Wow! That’s great!” when what we really want to hear is … yes, dear, but perhaps if you … instead. Right? Tomorrow, I am going to take a few deep breaths and really concentrate before diving into the next challenge prompt. (My self-appointed goal). You have a wonderful day, too!

          Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

