Sunday Funnies

So, today is the first day of June.

(brief, quiet pause)

YAY! Whoo-Hoo! Hurray! Summer is just around the corner! I’ve waited for it since last September, and here it is again, making another fabulous appearance with its heaping helpings of sunshine, fair weather, and grand heat indices!

Thank you once again, dear season, for gracing us with your fleeting yet wonderful presence.

fb-BeachTimeline Cover -6

I just learned about this last night but it’s never too late to join the JuNoWriMo event going on this month, with the goal being 50,000 words in 30 days.

I think this is a possible score with me, because last night was also when I happened to get my act together trying to figure out what to do with my latest story . The choice I made was to set it aside and just write whatever popped into my head. For about 20 minutes I sat with my fingers poised to type while gazing blurry-eyed at a yellowish green screen.

Suddenly, it came to me, just like magic, I tell you. My fingers started moving, words began to appear on that yellowish-green backdrop, and not long afterward, a story started to take shape.

It’s about a girl attending her older sister’s wedding, and she starts out by talking about this woman, how perfect her world seems, and how popular she was back in the day. The younger sister wasn’t too crazy about all the boy attention that made its way to the house and distracted her from little girl things like reading, school, and girl things. She did, however, grow up to realize that boys weren’t all that bad, and that two of the pursuers caught her eye in particular.

I flip-flop between the back story and the present – reminiscing about the past while preparing for this big day that is happening at that moment.

Even more surprising is that I’ve decided to go with first-person narrative this time.

Jeez, is that tough. I’m already confused about aspect and tense in this style. If she is narrating in the here and now, is it okay to use past tense on occasion, or is that one of them huge no-no’s I must obey or die trying to crush? I’ll need to do some quick-study about first person narrative, I think.

First-person narrative is a narrative mode where a story is narrated by one character at a time, speaking for and about themselves. First-person narrative may be singular, plural or multiple as well as being an authoritative, reliable or deceptive “voice” and represents point of view in the writing.

Princeton University

After searching online for info on tense, it is obvious we have another issue with OPINION over fact. Some like it present and some like it past, but both agree that flip-flopping is a no-no. That answers one question.

The inability to switch viewpoint anywhere inside the story is a first-person dogma. Which sucks. And, perhaps because I’m so used to 3rd Person Unlimited writing. 3rd Person Unlimited stumps a lot of my readers, but I’ve mentioned this before … they need to do an online search the way I do and learn before making assumptions based on lack of knowledge. 3rd Person Unlimited affords the writer the ability to use various and sundry perspectives, just not in the same scene. SCENE, which is not STORY or BOOK or even CHAPTER for that matter.

Whatever, I’m sticking with this first-person attempt and will try to remember present tense throughout. Nah, maybe I won’t. It’s her story and she can tell it any way she damn well pleases. She’s either speaking directly in present tense or sharing tidbits from her PAST, and if the reader can’t keep up or make the distinction, that’s too bad.

Another question in my head: I’m thinking this story might also be my very first SHORT. If I’m not mistaken, that means less than 50,000 words – or 50,000 words tops? Aish, something else I’ll need to look up and find out the truth in order to be right and perfect in writer’s land.

Oops. So, anything over 40,000 words is too long for a novella. Anything over 17,000 is too long for a novelette, and anything over 7,500 is too long for a short story.

I have to write 50,000 words by the end of June. Hmm. Well, it’s a rough first-draft attempt, right? So, who cares what it ends up becoming. With a second draft revision, I might be able to trim 10,000 words or more away to make it a novella.

Let’s see … as of June 1, 2014, I have typed 5, 680 words so far.

off I go now, to writing land!

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Funnies

  1. wscottling says:

    You can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RaiBal says:

    Thanks for the encouragement!

    Like

Please let me know what you think!

