That Annoying Conscience Thing

Finders, Keepers?

While walking on the beach, you stumble upon a valuable object buried in the sand — say, a piece of jewelry or an envelope full of cash. What do you do with it? Under what circumstances would you keep it?

Oh, I like this post 😀

Finally, something I can get excited about responding to at the Daily Prompt page.

The easiest and even fastest way to have lost jewelry or precious memento possessions returned to their rightful owners is if the finder of said article posts the discovery on his/her Facebook or Twitter feed.

Poof – done.

Oh, oh, my! I can’t believe you found this!  –  Yeah, well, y’know. Walking along a beach just happens to be one of my favorite pastimes.  –  But, I lost this 23 years ago!  –  Well, that’s quite amazing then, but really, no big deal.  –  I’m so grateful!  –  I’m just glad you’re happy and back together with that rarity you’ve missed all this time.

Heck, I even got all excited while watching an episode of James May’s Man Lab, where he set out to try finding his father’s lost wedding band, on a swath of England Seaside beach that they romped upon back in the 1970’s.

…………….

Now, if it’s the boatload of cash? Um, yeah, so, like, that’s an entirely DIFFERENT story. 😉

~ Mine! Finder’s Keepers, Loser’s Weepers! Ha Ha Ha! I’m rich, beotch! Hurray for me! ~

Guilt? Yes, I’m sure there would be bits and pieces of that Catholic upbringing lurking about somewhere in my mind.

Shame? Well, yes and no, depending on maybe what the money was hidden inside, how old were the bills, and even the amount of said bountiful booty discovered.

Paranoia? Most definitely. Copious amounts of glancing over my shoulder on the way back to my car, tons of rear-view mirror eyeballing on the way home, and even a likely mouse screech as I dashed inside the house – that creepy feeling of someone ready to pounce would take over.

What I’d do, I think, is to go online and pour over every possible lead to that amazing find, and mainly as a way of clearing up those excitement-robbing conscious-grinding fears. Then, I’d start searching for information on the currency’s date-of-issue numbers. I’d so hate to be accused of bank robbery!

Aw, heck … by this time in the scenario I’d likely just call the local police and … No! Dang it, I’m too poor to let this kind of windfall disappear on some technicality!

*Sigh*

I’d contact the authorities and tell them what I found. 😦

………………………….

These guys can convey it with lots more sway and class

Charlottesville Winter   TheJitteryGoat   TheAmbitiousDrifter   RisingRave28   HopeTheHappyHugger   UnderTheMonkeyTree   TNKerr   vivhtaylor   AlienAura   MySimpleBlog   PrairieViews   ReneeAndHerThoughts   PippakinClawz   Serendipity   JesseMHolmes   KateMurray   JourneysUnfolding   StoryVampire   SuesTrifles   LifeIsGreat   StilettoRockstar   AngloSwissChronicles   PsychologistMimi   APennyForYourThoughts   WillowsCorner   MorrighansMuse

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to That Annoying Conscience Thing

  1. painterwrite says:

    This is exactly how I would feel. I found a wallet once with a fair amount of cash in it. it was a student’s so I took it to the school office at least expecting a thank you. Nothing. I’m sure the girl was happy to get her money back, but for no one to even say thank you broke my little do-gooder heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • wscottling says:

      It’s possible the school office never told her who found it?

      Like

      • painterwrite says:

        The office lady just took it, rolled her eyes when she saw whose it was and then turned around to talk to someone else. Seriously, not a single word of thanks or even a “we’ll be sure to get this to her.” I just hope the girl got her stuff back.

        Like

        • paulwhitberg says:

          Some people have better manners. My wife and I once found a girl’s driver’s license in the street and mailed it to her address. She send us a letter and a $15 Starbucks gift card:)

          Like

    • RaiBal says:

      What a bummer 😦 Hey, you did the right thing. Your conscience is clear but your psyche is damaged. I’m used to life handing me this scenario, though. I’ve done enough for others over the years and stopped hoping for an ounce in return.

      Like

  2. Harliqueen says:

    Great post 🙂 I think I would turn it in too, my conscience wouldn’t be able to cope otherwise!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Finders, Keepers? – The paths are strewn with souvenirs if you are lucky | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Finders, Keepers? | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: My glutes and mind are longing for a walk on the beach « psychologistmimi

  6. cool take on the daily prompt challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  7. photoartistrycafe says:

    Love the post. Just recently I underwent a very disturbing bout of guilt. Here’s the story. I am a photographer. I have been looking for some peonies to photograph. An old house in the neighborhood sold to an out-of-towner. The yard has a very beautiful peony bush. I wrestled with my conscience for a week and then walked by one evening and realized they were about to die on the bush. Next morning at 5:54 am I ran over with a pair of clippers and a plastic bag. Yup…snagged the, photographed them and guilted over them all day BUT the photographs are lovely and I’ll give a framed copy to the neighbor once she moves in….WHEW!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      Thank you for stopping by and liking what I wrote. Your story sounds familiar, too 😀 I used to garden and take tons of pictures of gardens. I, too, happened upon a creaking, ramshackle home that looked neglected, if not abandoned. It had the most spectacular white climbing rose bush along a side fence and I just had to take a closer look (with camera and snips on hand). I took lots of pictures, then nervously looked over both shoulders a few times … clip! Stuffed the ill-gotten gains in a fanny pack and turned to go back home when … yeesh (blush!)
      “What are you doing here?” he asked after getting out of his car.
      “Taking pictures,” I half-lied, flashing him my camera and a best smile. “The rose bush is beautiful. I couldn’t resist.”
      He smiled back and went to the porch. “Mom planted that years ago,” he said. “She died a few months ago.” Story went that he needed to renovate before selling. I wanted to ask about the bush, for permission to dig it up, but I just couldn’t. The clipping took root, though! Guilt, guilt, yay! happy! guilt, guilt, guilt.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. grieflessons says:

    I once took a handful of stones from Pebble Beach in Ca. A big sign said it was illegal to do so, but I intended to use them in a sculpture. A friend later said that of all the thousands of people who had taken stones from that beach, mine were probably the best-intentioned and put to the best use, but still I had regrets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RaiBal says:

      I actually read an article about that place once, and I’m sorry I can’t find it now. Not living near the ocean, but surrounded by Great Lakes, I still find myself combing the beaches for sea glass that rarely, if ever, gets found. Don’t feel too bad about your decision. Selfish on the one hand and productive on the other. Personally, I think we’re permitted to use whatever resources nature provides. Kind of like climbing a tree or swimming, breathing the air and walking along a forest with no path. Being prohibited from such things is a conundrum in my book!

      Like

  9. grieflessons says:

    And…thanks for visiting my blog again.

    Liked by 1 person

Please let me know what you think!

