Daily Prompt: Great Expectations

Tell us about one thing (or more) that you promised yourself you’d accomplish by the end of the year. How would you feel once you do? What if you don’t?

Back in late October of 2013, I promised myself that 2014 would be the year to get published.

Opting out of Blogger this time and choosing WordPress instead, to blog about the experience. It isn’t entirely new to me, just more complex and therefore intimidating (frustrating, really) – but I knew if I was going to succeed (or fail) that I had to find somewhere with a large audience of like-minded people.

Then I chose one of a few stories in my Personal Writing folder and began to seriously reworked it, submitting a bit of it for critique as well. This was, perhaps, the most terrifying deal-breaker of them all, but I did it. GOAL in and of itself, I believe.

Letting someone I don’t know read my work is a lifetime achievement, a huge goal obtained, and one that I feel beyond excited for having done. I finally managed to let go of that silly self-awareness thing that held me back. I need to stop believing that everyone else is somehow better than, more worthy than, and more ingenious than I am.

Along the way, I learned a few things about point-of-view, voice, and especially about opinion versus helpful fact.

After reading so many articles, advice columns, and self-help suggestions, thinking long and hard about the ‘advice’ given at the critique website, and then reading/re-reading the words aloud a few times, editing some more, and then liking the end result (as much as I am able to like something of this magnitude), I created a Smashwords account and learned how to format the .doc for uploading.

As of May 13, 2014, I am an Indie Author. It wasn’t quite the route I started out wanting to take, and I’m still a bit mortified by what I’ve done, but I’ve done it and am honestly proud of myself.

Another overwhelming feeling of accomplishment, even if it is a double-edge sword for me. Questions abound about this decision, but not about why I did what I did. Even at my age, this is a huge breakthrough and one I’ll never forget.

TWO GOALS accomplished in 2014.

Finally, a goal set for accomplishment in 2014 that I’m worried might fail is to make money. I’ve been out of work since 2009 and can’t take much more of this uncertainty. It’s absolutely frightening to live this way, and I’d like the nightmare to end soon. This is where I feel helpless, hopeless, and useless, with no light at the end of the tunnel and no way of getting out.

DAILY PROMPT   BohemianStarGypsy   MamaBearMusings   AHillBillyBlogger   MeSardonicMeSarcastic   ChroniclesofanAngloSwiss    PIPPAKIN TALKS CATS, DOGS, TEETH AND CLAWS   PlanItJanet   kate0murray   AwlandScribe   Y|MThoughts   TuckedIntoACorner   Journeyman   TheJitteryGoat   TheWanderingPoet

About RaineBalkera

Aspiring Author of Romance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daily Prompt: Great Expectations

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt – Great Expectations | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Great Expectations of a Golden Oldie | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Klajunas says:

    just wanna wish you all the best…

    Like

  4. dmauldin53 says:

    Congratulations on achieving your goal! Stay positive and something will come around in the money deal. 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: I’ve Started So I’ll Finish! A New Way of Writing a Book | lynnesartandsoul

  6. Hey, you did never gave up…keep the spirit and believe in yourself and rest will fall in place too. My best wishes…you convinced me…I am following you.

    Like

  7. Pingback: You’re Beautiful,…. | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  8. Pingback: I got better than Expected! | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  9. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Great Expectations | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Please let me know what you think!

